top of page

lizzyland

Falling in


Every year, even before we had kids, my husband I and get all cheesy and explore at least one local pumpkin patch. This year, we made it a "surprise" for the boys and took them about an hour west to Blackberry Farms. I knew it would be a good day when I pulled up next to a freaking Delorean in the parking lot. I mean, I seriously went back in time. I made my kid take a picture next to it while my husband (who didn't grow up in the US) couldn't understand my nerdy need to document this moment. I think I've only seen one other Delorean in my life and that was a good 25 years ago!

I looked for the flux capacitor

This place had all the goods. Train, tractor, and carousel rides galore. Pumpkin decorating, animal farm, hokey cuts outs, and a kick-ass playground where both kids did zip-lining. Yes, the 2 year old went zip-lining. This kid could have rode the train all day and been totally content.

It never gets old....

Obligatory selfie on the train. I have about a dozen of these taken over the years from all of the kiddie train rides we go on throughout the mid-west. I'm obviously winning at parenting.

but we're just dorks.

We think we're models.

The gift shop is always, always high on the list of musts for the older kid. But we insist on waiting until we're out our way out every time. He's pretty good about waiting and it gives him something to look forward to when he gets sad that we have to leave. He picked out arrowheads and a kazoo. I got a magnet ('cause I'm that cheese ball who likes commemorative magnets adorning my fridge) and the baby got caramels. When we got all buckled in, the big one takes out the kazoo and blows into it. Nothing. I take it and explain that you have to hum to get noise out. I didn't do much better though and thought the thing was junk. The baby takes one toot on it and blows that kazoo at full throttle! We all die laughing. That kid...

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page